Early College High School

Carla Gonzalez
ECHS Director
Phone: 698-0793
E-Mail: ccgonzalez@bisd.us


Alfia Gracia
English
agracia3@bisd.us
956-698-6693

Ismael Garcia
Human Geography
igarcia@bisd.us
956-698-6192
Dustin Hernendez
AVID
dhernandez3@bisd.us
956-698-0524
Melissa Tullos
Algebra / Geometry
mitullos@bisd.us
956-698-6168
 

James Fournier
Biology
jefournier@bisd.us
956-698-2423

Leticia Errisuriz
Spanish
lerrisuriz@bisd.us
956-698-1822
Manuel Matias
Spanish
mmatias@bisd.us
956-698-0569
 

What is an Early College High School?

Early College High Schools are innovative high schools that allow students least likely to attend college an opportunity to earn a high school diploma and 60 college credit hours. Early College High Schools:

1. Provide dual credit at no cost to students
2. Offer rigorous instruction and accelerated courses
3. Provide academic and social support services to help students succeed
4. Increase college readiness, and
5. Reduce barriers to college access.

Retrieved from:TEA Link to ECHS Information

Is the Early College High School Model Successful? 

The Early College model is gaining national attention due to its success in raising high school graduation and college retention rates for students at risk of not graduating. The program provides student support systems, including tutoring, counseling, and mentoring while reducing barriers to college for students who might not otherwise achieve post-secondary success.