140x140

Julio C. Garay

Department Head - 10th Grade
jcgaray@bisd.us
956-698-6155
E-Mail

JPECHS Counselors

140x140

Aracely Del Angel Garcia

9th Grade
adagarcia@bisd.us
956-698-0294
E-Mail

140x140

Zoila Elizondo

11th Grade
zelizondo@bisd.us
956-698-2232
E-Mail

140x140

Lorraine Garza

12th Grade
lagarza@bisd.us
956-698-2839
E-Mail

140x140

Elva Compean

Supplemental
ecompean@bisd.us
956-698-0998
E-Mail

140x140

Adriana Lopez

At-Risk
alopez3@bisd.us
956-698-0749
E-Mail

140x140

Jessica Cantu

Higher Education
jcantu2@bisd.us
956-698-2624
E-Mail

140x140

Servando Velasquez

Career Placement Officer
svelasquez@bisd.us
956-698-0699
E-Mail

What is an early college high school?

Early College High Schools are innovative high schools that allow students least likely to attend college an opportunity to earn a high school diploma and 60 college credit hours. Early College High Schools:
1. Provide dual credit at no cost to students
2. Offer rigorous instruction and accelerated courses
3. Provide academic and social support services to help students succeed
4. Increase college readiness, and
5. Reduce barriers to college access.

Retrieved from:  
TEA Link to ECHS Information


Is the Early College High School Model Successful?

The Early College model is gaining national attention due to its success in raising high school graduation and college retention rates for students at risk of not graduating. The program provides student support systems, including tutoring, counseling, and mentoring while reducing barriers to college for students who might not otherwise achieve post-secondary success.