Grants Department
West Eagle Drive, Portables 1&2 Brownsville, TX 78521
Mail: 1900 Price Road., Brownsville, Texas 78521
Office (956) 548-8227 Fax (956) 548-8229
 
Welcome to the Grants Department

The BISD GRANTS Department mission involves close collaboration with the BISD Curriculum and Instruction Department and the Special Programs Department to improve the resources available to teachers and students.




BISD 21st Century Program
Texas Afterschool Centers on Education™ (ACE), administered by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and funded by the 21st CCLC Program administered by the US Department of Education, is a structured, safe, and supervised place for learning and social interaction. ACE provides extended learning opportunities for children and their families and offers innovative, hands-on activities that reinforce and complement students’ regular academic programs. These before and afterschool activities are based on research and best practices and include academic enrichment, challenging curriculum, and tutorial services. ACE strives to increase promotion and graduation rates and helps students prepare for college and the workplace.

The Texas 21st Century Program epitomizes the following goals:
-Improve Academics
-Improve Attendance
-Improve Behavior
-Increase Promotion Rates
-Increase Graduation Rates
-Increase Parental Involvement

View more information about this Program.


Public Notice
  GEAR UP!
Purpose
The Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs (GEAR UP) project is a six-year federal initiative designed to increase early college awareness and readiness in traditionally underrepresented groups. Texas GEAR UP is divided into two major strands:

 •Statewide initiatives that help achieve GEAR UP goals across the state
•The Students Training for Academic Readiness
(STAR) Project, an intensive, multifaceted P-16 intervention in the Coastal Bend area of South Texas in coordination with the Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi Pre-College Outreach Office.

Proven Dropout Prevention Strategies
The Texas Education Agency focuses state and federal resources on identifying and replicating proven strategies for dropout prevention and recovery. Research indicates that providing mentors or adult advocates for students at-risk of dropping out of school is an effective dropout prevention strategy to help students address academic, social, and emotional needs that are barriers to academic achievement. Mentors and adult advocates are one of the proven dropout strategies used in GEAR UP.

View more information about this Program.


Taken from the TEA Website


GRANTS STAFF 21st CENTURY STAFF
Dr. Gregorio Garcia
Grant Specialist
(956) 698-1687
greggarcia@bisd.us

John M. Rodriguez
Grant Specialist
(956) 548-9866
jmrodriguez@bisd.us

Alma Figueroa
Secretary V
(956) 698-1478
apfigueroa@bisd.us

Diana Barron
Secretary IV
(956) 698-6386                dbarron@bisd.us
Dr. Linda Gallegos
Project Director
(956) 698-2037
nlgallegos@bisd.us

Elsa S. Sosa
Program Specialist
(956) 698-1475
essosa@bisd.us

JoAnn Marchan-Briones
Family Engagement Specialist
(956) 547-7174
jamarchan-briones@bisd.us

Maribel Gracia
Lead Teacher
(956) 698-0248
mgracia@bisd.us

Catherine M. Garcia
Accountant
(956) 698-2719                cmgarcia@bisd.us

Sylvia G. Castro
Secretary V
(956) 698-2037
sgcastro@bisd.us

Cristina Castro
Secretary IV
(956) 547-7173
ccastro@bisd.us


SITE COORDINATORS

Alpha Cervantes
Site Coordinator
Benavides Elementary
(956) 698-1454
aocervantes@bisd.us

Carmelita Perez
Site Coordinator
Castaneda Elementary
(956) 698-0393
cperez@bisd.us

Ernesto X. Tamez
Site Coordinator
Cromack Elementary
(956) 698-2811
extamez@bisd.us

Russell Elementary
(956) 698-2037
nlgallegos@bisd.us 

Raul Arteaga
Site Coordinator
Villa Nueva Elementary
(956) 698-0927
rgarteaga@bisd.us

Juan Gracia
Site Coordinator
Garcia Middle School
(956) 698-2951
jgracia3@bisd.us

Lucio Middle School
(956) 698-2037
nlgallegos@bisd.us

Claudia Davis
Site Coordinator
Perkins Middle School
(956) 698-1339
cldavis@bisd.us

Maribel Chapa-Gracia
Site Coordinator
Stillman Middle School
(956) 698-1041
mchapa-gracia@bisd.us